Diversity and identification

More than 20,000 species of bees have been described by scientists around the world, with 2,000 of them present in Europe and about 400 species in Belgium, from the coast to the Ardenne! In our country, they vary from a few millimeters to more than two centimeters long, all different in shapes, colors and hairiness!

The Brussels-Capital Region alone, with its green spaces (gardens, parks, nature reserves, etc.) hosts more than 150 species of bees in addition to the European honey bee (Apis mellifera). They are organized into 28 genera and six families: Andrenidae, Apidae, Colletidae, Halictidae, Megachilidae and Melittidae.

Unless you're an expert in the field of wild bee identification, and there are very few such experts in Belgium, their identification to the naked eye or on the basis of a single photograph is not easy! Apart from some easy species such as the honeybee, the common carder bee (Bombus pascuorum) or the tawny mining bee (Andrena fulva), it is difficult to identify a bee without a pinned specimen.

 

Many characters come into play for the identification of bees, including:

  •     wing venation

  •     presence, size and color of brushes to collect pollen

  •     shape and length of antenna articles

  •     color and size of bristles on different parts of the body

  •     shape of mandibles

  •     number, shape and color of spots on the head, thorax and abdomen

  •     presence of pads between the claws of the feet

  •     And much more!


This is why in many cases it is necessary for the experts to catch a few bees to identify them to the species, conduct genetic and toxicology analysis, and many more in-depth studies. These captures are necessary, important and there is currently no alternative to carry out our research. A study has shown that lethal sampling didn't have an impact on the abundance, diversity and population composition of wild bee communities.

If you want to learn how to recognize bees, the SAPOLL project has developed tools to help identify bees of Belgium, you can download this document for free (PDF, about 7MB). You will quickly realize that the identification on the basis of photos is not simple and that often specimens will be required to observe all the characters necessary for the identification of the genus and the species!

The following 20 photos by Prof. Nicolas Vereecken give an overview of the diversity of shapes and colours found in wild bees in Belgium. The main genera are represented but this is only 10% of the diversity expected in Brussels!

IMG_20190501_133111_HDR.jpg
IMG_20190501_162137.jpg
IMG_20190503_165846.jpg
Picture5.jpg
Sapoll.png
Andrena fulva
Anthidium oblongatum
Anthophora plumipes
Bombus pratorum
Coelioxys aurolimbata
Colletes cunicularius
Chelostoma rapunculi
Halictus scabiosae
Hylaeus signatus
Lasioglossum morio
Macropis fulvipes
Megachile willughbiella
Melecta albifrons
Melitta nigricans
Nomada goodeniana
Osmia cornuta
Panurgus banksianus
Sphecodes albilabris
Stelis punctulatissima
Xylocopa violacea
1/1

We are currently working on the Atlas content, including illustrations to learn bee morphology and bee genera identification. These illustrations will be included in the final version of the Atlas fo the Wild Bees of Brussels. For more info about each of the illustrations shown below, you can visit our Facebook page: Bee Morphology and Bee Genera!

Diversité et identification

Plus de 20.000 espèces d'abeilles ont été décrites par les scientifiques à travers le monde, 2.000 en Europe et près de 400 espèces vivent sur le territoire belge, du littoral à l'Ardenne profonde ! Chez nous, elles varient de quelques millimètres à plus de deux centimètres de long, toutes différentes en formes et couleurs et une pilosité très variable.

La Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, avec ses nombreux espaces verts (jardins privés, parcs, réserves naturelles et autres) accueille plus de 150 espèces d'abeilles sauvages en plus de l'abeille domestique européenne (Apis mellifera). Elles sont organisées en 28 genres et six familles: Andrenidae, Apidae, Colletidae, Halictidae, Megachilidae et Melittidae.

Leur identification à l'oeil nu ou sur base d'une seule photographie n'est pas chose facile ! A part les espèces très emblématiques telles que l'abeille domestique, le bourdon des champs (Bombus pascuorum) ou l'andrène fauve (Andrena fulva), il est souvent difficile d'identifier une abeille sans avoir capturé de spécimen. De nombreux caractères entrent en jeu pour l'identification des abeilles, notamment :

  • la nervation des ailes

  • la présence, taille et couleur de brosses pour récolter le pollen 

  • la forme et longueur des articles des antennes

  • la couleur et taille des soies sur différentes parties du corps

  • la forme des mandibules

  • le nombre, la forme et la couleur de taches sur la tête, le thorax et l'abdomen

  • la présence de coussinets entre les griffes des pattes

  • et bien plus encore !

C'est pour cela que dans de nombreux cas, il est nécessaire pour les experts de capturer quelques abeilles pour arriver à leur donner un nom et pour suivre l'évolution des populations sauvages. Ces captures sont nécessaires, importantes et il n'existe pas d'alternative pour mener la plupart de nos recherches. Une étude récente a démontré que ces prélèvements ponctuels n'avaient pas d'impact visible sur les populations et la composition des communautés d'abeilles sauvages.

Si vous désirez apprendre à reconnaître les abeilles, le projet SAPOLL a développé des outils d'aide à l'identification des genres d'abeilles de Belgique, vous pouvez télécharger ce document gratuitement ici (PDF, env. 7MB). Vous vous rendrez vite compte que l'identification sur base de photos n'est pas si simple, et que souvent des spécimens seront nécessaires pour pouvoir observer tous les caractères nécessaires à l'identification du genre et de l'espèce !

Les 20 images suivantes par Prof. Nicolas Vereecken donnent un aperçu de la diversité de formes et de couleurs trouvée chez les abeilles sauvages de Belgique. Les principaux genres sont représentés mais il ne s'agit ici que de 10% de la diversité attendue à Bruxelles !

IMG_20190501_133111_HDR.jpg
IMG_20190501_162137.jpg
IMG_20190503_165846.jpg
Picture5.jpg
Sapoll.png
Andrena fulva
Anthidium oblongatum
Anthophora plumipes
Bombus pratorum
Coelioxys aurolimbata
Colletes cunicularius
Chelostoma rapunculi
Halictus scabiosae
Hylaeus signatus
Lasioglossum morio
Macropis fulvipes
Megachile willughbiella
Melecta albifrons
Melitta nigricans
Nomada goodeniana
Osmia cornuta
Panurgus banksianus
Sphecodes albilabris
Stelis punctulatissima
Xylocopa violacea
1/1

Nous sommes en train de développer le contenu de l'atlas, notamment des fiches pour apprendre la morphologie des abeilles et identifier les genres d'abeilles de la région bruxelloises. Ces fiches seront intégrées à l'atlas lors de sa finalisation. Pour plus d'informations sur nos outils, rendez-vous sur notre page Facebook: Morphologie des Abeilles et Clé des Genres!