About us >

Social networks >

Contact >

The Atlas of the Wild Bees of Brussels, funded by Brussels Environment and implemented by the team of Prof. Nicolas Vereecken at the Agroecology Lab of the Université Libre de Bruxelles, aims to better define the diversity, distribution, abundance and needs of more than 150 species of wild bees encountered in Brussels and to produce a document freely accessible and summarising the state of current knowledge.

WildBnB is the acronym of 'Wild Bees and Brussels' and refers to the concept of Bed and Breakfast (BnB), as our wild bees need nesting sites (bed) and host plants (breakfast) to survive and thrive in our urban environments. 

f_logo_RGB-Hex-Blue_512.png
Group.png
twitter-512.png
instagram-round-flat-512.png

Stéphane De Greef
Project coordinator

Agroecology Lab

ULB, Campus de La Plaine

T: +32 (0)2.650.6081

E: stephane.de.greef at ulb.ac.be

© 2019 WildBnB - ULB Agroécologie

All images by Nicolas Vereecken except when mentioned

Help us survey the wild bees of Brussels!

We will need YOU to track bees and submit your observations and specimens in 2019-2020, contributing to the scientific knowledge of wild bees of Brussels and helping us rediscover species considered rare or extinct.

You can help us in two ways: by sharing your observations with us or by collecting specimens on our behalf.

Sharing your observations

If you encounter wild bees in your garden or during a walk in the Brussels region, you can share your observations with us fast, simply and easily. The most important thing is to provide the following information:
 

  1. photos of the bee from several angles (if possible dorsal, profile, face from front)

  2. date and exact location where you observed it (address or GPS coordinates)

  3. your observations (was the bee building a nest, in what type of environment, with what materials, or foraging, on which host plant?)


Then share your observations via Waarnemingen.be (available in English and many other languages) or via our mobile applications ObsMapp for Android and iObs for iOS. You can easily add observations during your walks and your smartphone will automatically add the exact coordinates by GPS, date and time, in addition to the photographs that will allow our experts to identify the species you will encounter.

You do not have a smartphone / tablet or you prefer to communicate your observations differently? You can always contact us by e-mail.

ObsMapp.jpg
iObs.jpg
Collect specimens for our experts

It is often difficult, and sometimes impossible, to identify a bee solely on the basis of images, especially if the bee has been photographed from afar, with a smartphone or from a single viewpoint. This is why our inventories often require the collection and conservation of bees in a collection in order to identify them to the species level, to carry out genetic and toxicological studies and keep voucher specimens of bee populations for the decades to come. These captures are essential for science, and a recent study has shown that repeated, lethal sampling of wild bees by net and pan-trapping didn't have an impact on the abundance, diversity and composition of wild bee populations. Most bees live as adults only for a few weeks or months and many are killed by predators or human activities others than capture. Traveling by car or public transport, mowing your lawn or removing weeds from your garden all have a greater impact on bee populations than catching a few dozen bees a few times a month. It is, in many ways, like taking a blood sample: it's rather unpleasant but essential to take a fraction of your blood to assess your health status and establish a proper diagnosis before giving treatment.

So you can help us by collecting wild bee specimens using a butterfly net (Maunakea, Amazon), coloured pan traps or any other legal harvesting method (outside nature reserves, Natura 2000 areas and other protected places). For each specimen collected, record the date, location, method of capture and host plant.

Place the specimens in a small container with a paper or cardboard label where you'll write all collection information with a pencil, then keep them in the freezer and contact us to transfer them to us. Each specimen collected by you and sent to our ULB researchers will be identified, added to the university's entomological collections under your name, and included as observation in the future atlas.

Collector: Alix Tiday

 

Captured by net on 24 June 2019

Avenue Latinis 595

1030 Schaerbeek, Belgium

on a Malva sylvestris in my garden

Exchange with experts on social networks

If you live in Brussels and are interested in wild bees, pollinators, insects, nature, gardening or the environment in general, we will communicate regularly on social networks about the bees of our region, teach you how to recognize certain species or take better pictures for your observations. We will also keep you posted about our surveys so you can join us and learn about bees from experts in the field!

Join us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to receive updates about the atlas and join our WildBnB Community to chat with our experts and ask your questions about bees!

We need your help to carry out this project!

f_logo_RGB-Hex-Blue_512.png
Group.png
twitter-512.png
instagram-round-flat-512.png

Le projet >

Réseaux sociaux >

Contact >

L’Atlas des Abeilles Sauvages de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, financé par Bruxelles Environnement et mis en œuvre par l’équipe du Prof. Nicolas Vereecken au Laboratoire d'Agroécologie de l'Université Libre de Bruxelles, a pour objectif de mieux cerner la diversité, la répartition, l'abondance et les besoins de plus de 150 espèces d’abeilles sauvages présentes à Bruxelles et de produire un document accessible au grand public résumant l'état de la connaissance actuelle.

WildBnB est l’acronyme de 'Wild Bees and Brussels' et rappelle l'expression du Bed and Breakfast (BnB), car nos abeilles sauvages ont besoin d’un lieu de nidification et de plantes nourricières pour survivre et s'épanouir en ville. 

f_logo_RGB-Hex-Blue_512.png
Group.png
twitter-512.png
instagram-round-flat-512.png

Stéphane De Greef
Coordinateur du projet
Laboratoire d'Agroécologie

ULB, Campus de La Plaine

T : +32 (0)2.650.6081

E : stephane.de.greef at ulb.ac.be

© 2019 WildBnB - ULB Agroécologie

All images by Nicolas Vereecken except mention

Vous pouvez nous aider à recenser les abeilles de Bruxelles !

Nous aurons besoin de VOUS pour faire le suivi des abeilles et soumettre vos observations et spécimens en 2019-2020, contribuant à la connaissance scientifique des abeilles sauvages et nous aidant à redécouvrir des espèces considérées comme rares ou disparues.

Vous pouvez nous aider de deux façons : en partageant vos observations en ligne ou en capturant des spécimens.

Partagez vos observations

Si vous rencontrez des abeilles sauvages dans votre jardin ou au cours d'une balade en région bruxelloise, vous pouvez partager vos observations avec nous de plusieurs façons. Le plus important est de bien fournir les informations suivantes :

1. des photos de l'abeille sous plusieurs angles (si possible de dos, de côté, de face)

2. la date et l'endroit exact où vous l'avez observée (si possible coordonnées GPS)

3. vos observations éventuelles (était-elle en train de construire son nid, dans quel type de milieu, avec quels matériaux ? Ou de butiner, sur quelle plante ? )

Partagez ensuite vos observations via la plateforme Observations.be (ancienne version, multilingue) ou Waarnemingen.be (nouvelle version multilingue) ou via nos applications mobiles pour ObsMapp pour Android et iObs pour iOS. Vous pouvez ajouter des observations lors de vos balades et votre smartphone ajoutera automatiquement les coordonnées exactes par GPS, la date et l’heure, en plus des photographies qui permettront à nos experts d’identifier les espèces que vous rencontrerez.

Vous n'avez pas de smartphone/tablette ou vous préférez nous communiquer vos observations autrement ? Vous pouvez toujours nous contacter par e-mail.

ObsMapp.jpg
iObs.jpg
Récoltez des spécimens pour les experts

Il est souvent difficile, et parfois impossible, d'identifier une abeille uniquement sur base d'images, particulièrement si l'abeille a été photographiée de loin, avec un smartphone ou sous un seul angle. C'est pourquoi nos inventaires nécessitent souvent la capture et la conservation d'abeilles en collection pour pouvoir les identifier jusqu'à l'espèce et réaliser des études génétiques et toxicologiques. Ces captures sont essentielles pour la science et une étude récente a démontré que le prélèvement ponctuel d'abeilles sauvages par filet et piégeage en coupelles n'avait pas d'impact visible sur l'abondance, la diversité et la composition des populations d'abeilles sauvages. La plupart des abeilles ne vivent à l'état adulte que quelques semaines ou mois et beaucoup sont tuées par des prédateurs ou les activités humaines autres que la capture. Se déplacer en voiture ou en transport en commun, tondre sa pelouse ou enlever ses mauvaises herbes dans son jardin à un impact beaucoup plus grand sur les populations d'abeilles que la capture de quelques dizaines d'abeilles quelques jours par mois. Imaginez la récolte comme une prise de sang: c'est évidemment désagréable mais le prélèvement d'une fraction de votre sang permet d'établir un diagnostic fiable pour vous soigner!

 

Vous pouvez donc nous aider en récoltant des spécimens d’abeilles sauvages à l’aide d’un filet à papillon (Maunakea, Amazon), de piège à coupelles colorées ou de toute autre méthode de récolte légale (hors réserves naturelles, zones Natura 2000 et autres lieux protégés). Notez la date, l'endroit et la méthode de capture.

Gardez les spécimens accompagnés d'une étiquette avec les informations de récolte écrites au crayon, conservez les au congélateur et contactez-nous pour les transférer dans les jours ou semaines qui suivent. Chaque spécimen récolté par vos soins et transmis à nos chercheurs de l'ULB sera identifié, ajouté aux collections entomologiques de l'université, et inclus dans l’atlas à venir.

Collector: Alix Tiday

 

Captured by net on 24 June 2019

Avenue Latinis 595

1030 Schaerbeek, Belgium

on a Malva sylvestris in my garden

Informez-vous et informez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux

Si vous habitez à Bruxelles et êtes intéressés par les abeilles sauvages, les pollinisateurs, les insectes, la nature, le jardinage ou l’environnement, nous communiquerons régulièrement sur les réseaux sociaux pour découvrir les abeilles de nos régions, vous apprendre à reconnaître certaines espèces et prendre de meilleures photos. 

Rejoignez-nous sur notre Page Facebook, Twitter et Instagram pour recevoir des mises à jour sur notre Atlas des Abeilles Sauvages de Bruxelles et sur notre groupe d'échange Facebook, pour discuter avec nos experts et poser vos questions sur les abeilles !

Nous avons besoin de votre aide pour mener à bien ce projet !

f_logo_RGB-Hex-Blue_512.png
Group.png
twitter-512.png
instagram-round-flat-512.png