About us >

Social networks >

Contact >

The Atlas of the Wild Bees of Brussels, funded by Brussels Environment and implemented by the team of Prof. Nicolas Vereecken at the Agroecology Lab of the Université Libre de Bruxelles, aims to better define the diversity, distribution, abundance and needs of more than 150 species of wild bees encountered in Brussels and to produce a document freely accessible and summarising the state of current knowledge.

WildBnB is the acronym of 'Wild Bees and Brussels' and refers to the concept of Bed and Breakfast (BnB), as our wild bees need nesting sites (bed) and host plants (breakfast) to survive and thrive in our urban environments. 

f_logo_RGB-Hex-Blue_512.png
Group.png
twitter-512.png
instagram-round-flat-512.png

Stéphane De Greef
Project coordinator

Agroecology Lab

ULB, Campus de La Plaine

T: +32 (0)2.650.6081

E: stephane.de.greef at ulb.ac.be

© 2019 WildBnB - ULB Agroécologie

All images by Nicolas Vereecken except when mentioned

What is the Atlas of the Wild Bees of Brussels?

The Atlas of the Wild Bees of the Brussels-Capital Region is a research and education project financed by Brussels Environment for 2019-2020 with the aim of better understanding the diversity, distribution, abundance,  population trends and ecological needs of more than 150 species of wild bees currently encountered in Brussels, Belgium.

The informal name of the project 'WildBnB' is the acronym for 'Wild Bees and Brussels' and recalls the concept of Bed and Breakfast, because our bees need a nesting place (Bed) but also host plants (Breakfast). The image in the center of the logo, inspired from an original idea by Jonathan Kalifat, represents a buff-tailed bumblebee (Bombus terrestris), a common species of wild bee observable all year long in Belgium.

Why do we need an atlas of the wild bees?

When we talk about bees, everyone obviously thinks about the European honey bee (Apis mellifera), but did you know that there are nearly 400 species of wild bees in Belgium, and that about half of them can be found in Brussels? From large bumblebees to tiny solitary bees nesting in the ground or hollow stems, wild bees play an essential role with the pollination of our native plants, in our natural ecosystems, parks, gardens and vegetable gardens. Unfortunately, some of these species have not been observed for decades and many more are threatened with extinction because of the difficult living conditions in our urban areas.

This atlas is a way for Brussels Environment to assess the current diversity and health of wild bee populations, to highlight which species are currently threatened and how we could help them.

 

At the end of this project in 2020, we will publish an illustrated atlas with more than 150 species of bees found in Brussels, with photos, descriptions, distribution maps, biology and much more!

Who is running this project?

This project is financed by Brussels Environment (IBGE) and set up by the team of Prof. Nicolas Vereecken at the Agroecology Lab of the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) in collaboration with Natuurpunt, Natagora and the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences. The project contributes to the regional strategy for wild bees and pollinators, led by the Department of Nature Development (Julien Ruelle) of Brussels Environment.

The project leader is Prof. Nicolas Vereecken (Agroecology lab, ULB). The general coordination of the project is done by Stéphane De Greef (ULB, Agroecology Lab) and field surveys are jointly conducted by ULB (Stéphane De Greef), Natuurpunt (David De Grave, Samuel De Rycke, Maarten Cuypers, Jens D'Haeseleer, Win Vertommen) and the Royal Institute of Natural Sciences of Belgium (Alain Pauly).

But this project can not be completed without support from citizen science! We will need YOU and your presence in the field to share your observations and specimens in 2019-2020, allowing us to better understand the diversity and distribution of bees in Brussels.

Do you want to help us ? It's easy ! Join us!

Qu'est-ce que l’Atlas des Abeilles Sauvages de Bruxelles ?

Logo_WildBnB - Small.png

L’Atlas des Abeilles Sauvages de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale est un projet de recherche et d'éducation financé par Bruxelles Environnement pour 2019-2020 et ayant pour objectif de mieux cerner la diversité, la répartition, l'abondance, l'évolution des populations et les besoins écologiques de plus de 150 espèces d’abeilles sauvages présentes à Bruxelles.

Le nom informel du projet ‘WildBnB’ est l’acronyme de 'Wild Bees and Brussels' et rappelle le concept du Bed and Breakfast, car nos abeilles ont besoin d’un lieu de nidification (Bed - Gîte) mais aussi de plantes nourricières (Breakfast - Couvert). L'image au centre du logo, inspiré d'une idée originale de Jonathan Kalifat, représente un bourdon terrestre (Bombus terrestris), une espèce observable toute l'année en Belgique. 

Pourquoi un atlas des abeilles sauvages ?

Quand on parle d’abeilles, tout le monde pense évidemment à l’abeille mellifère européenne (Apis mellifera), mais saviez-vous qu’il existe près de 400 espèces d’abeilles sauvages en Belgique, et que près de la moitié d’entre elles vivent à Bruxelles ? Des gros bourdons aux minuscules abeilles solitaires nichant dans le sol ou les tiges creuses, les abeilles sauvages occupent une place essentielle pour la pollinisation de nos plantes indigènes, dans nos écosystèmes naturels, parcs, jardins et potagers. Malheureusement, certaines de ces espèces n’ont plus été observées depuis des décennies et de nombreuses autres sont menacées d’extinction en raison des conditions de vie difficiles dans nos zones urbaines.


Cet atlas est un moyen pour Bruxelles Environnement de mesurer la diversité et la santé des populations d’abeilles sauvages, d’évaluer quelles espèces sont actuellement menacées et comment nous pourrions leur venir en aide. A la fin de ce projet en 2020, nous publierons un atlas illustré avec plus de 150 espèces d’abeilles rencontrées à Bruxelles, avec des photos, descriptions, cartes de distribution, biologie et bien plus encore !

atlas.jpg
Map.jpg

Qui mène ce projet ?

Ce projet est financé par Bruxelles Environnement (IBGE) et mis en place par l'équipe du Prof. Nicolas Vereecken au Laboratoire d'Agroécologie de l'Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) en collaboration avec Natuurpunt, Natagora et l'Institut Royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique. Le projet contribue à la stratégie régionale pour les abeilles et pollinisateurs sauvages, pilotée par le service Développement Nature (Julien Ruelle) de Bruxelles Environnement.

Le responsable du projet est le Prof. Nicolas Vereecken (ULB, Laboratoire d'Agroécologie). La coordination générale du projet est assurée par Stéphane De Greef (ULB, Laboratoire d'Agroécologie) et les inventaires de terrain sont réalisés conjointement par l'ULB (Stéphane De Greef), Natuurpunt (David De Grave, Samuel De Rycke, Maarten Cuypers, Jens D'Haeseleer, Win Vertommen) et l'Institut Royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique (Alain Pauly).

Mais ce projet ne pourra être mené à bien sans science participative ! Nous aurons donc besoin de VOUS et de votre présence sur le terrain pour nous communiquer vos observations et spécimens en 2019-2020, nous permettant de mieux comprendre la diversité et distribution des abeilles à Bruxelles.

Vous voulez nous aider ? C'est facile ! Participez au projet d'atlas !