About us >

Social networks >

Contact >

The Atlas of the Wild Bees of Brussels, funded by Brussels Environment and implemented by the team of Prof. Nicolas Vereecken at the Agroecology Lab of the Université Libre de Bruxelles, aims to better define the diversity, distribution, abundance and needs of more than 150 species of wild bees encountered in Brussels and to produce a document freely accessible and summarising the state of current knowledge.

WildBnB is the acronym of 'Wild Bees and Brussels' and refers to the concept of Bed and Breakfast (BnB), as our wild bees need nesting sites (bed) and host plants (breakfast) to survive and thrive in our urban environments. 

f_logo_RGB-Hex-Blue_512.png
Group.png
twitter-512.png
instagram-round-flat-512.png

Stéphane De Greef
Project coordinator

Agroecology Lab

ULB, Campus de La Plaine

T: +32 (0)2.650.6081

E: stephane.de.greef at ulb.ac.be

© 2019 WildBnB - ULB Agroécologie

All images by Nicolas Vereecken except when mentioned

Main threats

Are all bee species threatened?

We often hear and read that all bee populations are collapsing around the world, but what is it really? The first question to ask before answering is 'what bees are we talking about?', as the situation varies greatly from one species to the other. Some bees are doing well while others are threatened or on the verge of extinction. There are three main categories:

The European honey bee (Apis mellifera) is at no risk of extinction (© Nicolas Vereecken)

1. The European honey bee (Apis mellifera), which is domesticated and probably no longer exists in the wild in Europe, is a farmed animal whose populations are easily managed and multiplied by beekeepers. Although negatively impacted by diseases, parasites and some pesticides, the number of colonies is stable or increasing in Belgium. They are therefore not threatened with extinction and do not need to be 'saved', despite what many websites say!

The European orchard bee (Osmia cornuta) is still doing fine in cities (© Nicolas Vereecken)

2. Some species of wild bees such as the buff-tailed bumblebee (Bombus terrestris) and European orchard bee (Osmia cornuta) have flexible ecological needs and have therefore adapted well to the changing land use in Belgium over the last centuries. Foraging on a wide range of wild plants and crops (including many of our fruits and vegetables), nesting in parks, gardens and wastelands, they are doing well in our region and continue to ensure their role as pollinators in natural, agricultural and urban areas.

Melitta nigricans only collects pollen from purple loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria)(© Nicolas Vereecken)

3. Other species of wild bees, such as the purple loosestrife melitta (Melitta nigricans), have very restricted ecological niches, foraging only one or a few plant species (monolectic and oligolectic bees), or needing particular places or uncommon materials for nest construction (for example very warm sandy soils, empty snail shells or plant fibers). Several dozen of these species are unfortunately in decline or have already disappeared from the Brussels region or even from Belgium, over the last decades.

What are the main threats to wild bees?

On the basis of European Red List of Bees and other relevant studies, current threats can be grouped into five broad categories:

1. Agricultural expansion and intensification

Over the last centuries, many natural areas (forests, grasslands, wetlands, etc.) have been progressively converted to agricultural and livestock production areas, resulting in large scale habitat loss and habitat degradation, notably through the application of insecticides and herbicides, intensive large-scale monoculture and the replacement of hayfields with intensive livestock feed.
 

Specifically, each species of wild bee needs suitable nesting sites (bare, well-drained, warm soil, sandy soil, gentle slope or vertical earth wall, hollow stems, piles of rocks, snail shells, etc.), as well as one or more species of host plants to collect nectar and pollen from. The conversion of natural areas to agriculture has greatly reduced the area available for these nesting sites and the abundance, density and range of these plants essential to the life cycle of many species of bees.

A meadow with a wide diversity of host plants (© Nicolas Vereecken)

A crop production area with low diversity of host plants (© Nicolas Vereecken)

2. Pollution and pesticides

Often referred to as the only or main cause of the 'bee-pocalypse', pesticides (mainly herbicides, insecticides and fungicides) are just one of many factors behind the decline of bees. Unfortunately, most toxicological studies have been carried out on the European honey bee (Apis mellifera) and the buff-tailed bumblebee (Bombus terrestris) and we're still lacking consistent data to fully understand the impact of these substances on other species of wild bees.

Some insecticides used in agriculture and horticulture have a significant effect on non-target species, leading to increased mortality and, at sub-lethal doses, affecting the behaviour of some species and making them more susceptible to diseases and pests. Herbicides also threaten wild bees by destroying 'weeds', native plants providing pollen and nectar essential for bee survival. Fungicides would also have an impact on the health and survival of some bumblebee species.

Insecticides and herbicides are commonly used in gardens (© Stéphane De Greef)

Pesticides can kill, disorientate or weaken some bee species (© Stéphane De Greef)

3. Industrial and urban development

In addition to the loss of habitat and floral resources related to agriculture, many natural or semi-natural sites have been destroyed in recent decades to make way for industrial and urban areas, especially in the Brussels region. As a result of this change of land use, unable to find their host plants and without access to healthy soils or hollow stems for nesting, most wild bees can disappear from the landscape over a matter of months or years.

Urban wastelands, these 'abandoned areas' in the heart of our city, are safe havens for dozens of wild bee species, where they have access to a wide range of nesting sites, great floral diversity and low pesticide contamination. Every year, unfortunately, many urban wastelands are developed to make room for new housings, shopping centers or car parks, resulting in the instant disappearance of many species of wild bees and countless other plants and animals.

The friche Josaphat in Schaerbeek hosts more than 70 species of bees (© Jens D'Haeseleer)

A former wasteland in Tour et Taxis converted to a flowerless car park (© Stéphane De Greef)

4. Climate change

Even though climate change is not perceived in our daily lives, the increase of average temperatures, the periods of extreme drought, floods or dog days can cause catastrophic damage to bee populations and their host plants. Some spring species emerging too early because of a mild winter may be decimated by late frost, and others may emerge before or after the flowering season of their host plant, leaving them without food. These phenomena remain poorly understood and it is essential to carry out more studies on this critical topic.

A demonstration in 2019 in Brussels to ask the government to implement concrete actions against climate change (© Stéphane De Greef)

5. Invasive species, diseases and parasites

The arrival of invasive species can cause serious disturbances in natural, agricultural and urban environments. Invasive plants such as Japanese knotweed (Fallopia japonica) can quickly cover large areas of land and cause the disappearance of native flora and sun-exposed nesting sites.

Several studies have also shown that honeybees negatively impact wild bee populations, chasing them away and reducing their density in a significant way, notably by competing with wild bee for floral resources, by outnumbering wild bees because of their efficient recruitment behaviour, but also by massively exposing wild bees to parasites and viruses .

Japanese knotwee (Fallopia japonica) crowding an area that used to harbour a wide diversity of native plants providing nectar and pollen to wild bees (© Stéphane De Greef)

Le projet >

Réseaux sociaux >

Contact >

L’Atlas des Abeilles Sauvages de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, financé par Bruxelles Environnement et mis en œuvre par l’équipe du Prof. Nicolas Vereecken au Laboratoire d'Agroécologie de l'Université Libre de Bruxelles, a pour objectif de mieux cerner la diversité, la répartition, l'abondance et les besoins de plus de 150 espèces d’abeilles sauvages présentes à Bruxelles et de produire un document accessible au grand public résumant l'état de la connaissance actuelle.

WildBnB est l’acronyme de 'Wild Bees and Brussels' et rappelle l'expression du Bed and Breakfast (BnB), car nos abeilles sauvages ont besoin d’un lieu de nidification et de plantes nourricières pour survivre et s'épanouir en ville. 

f_logo_RGB-Hex-Blue_512.png
Group.png
twitter-512.png
instagram-round-flat-512.png

Stéphane De Greef
Coordinateur du projet
Laboratoire d'Agroécologie

ULB, Campus de La Plaine

T : +32 (0)2.650.6081

E : stephane.de.greef at ulb.ac.be

© 2019 WildBnB - ULB Agroécologie

All images by Nicolas Vereecken except mention

Menaces actuelles

Toutes les abeilles sont-elles menacées ?

On entend et lit souvent que toutes les populations d'abeilles sont en train de s'effondrer à travers le monde, mais qu'en est-il vraiment ? La première distinction à faire est de savoir de quelle abeille parle-t-on, car la situation varie beaucoup d'une espèce à l'autre. Certaines se portent bien alors que d'autres sont menacées ou sur le point de disparaître. Il existe trois grands cas de figure :

L'abeille mellifère (Apis mellifera) ne court aucun risque d'extinction (© Nicolas Vereecken)

1. L'abeille mellifère européenne (Apis mellifera), qui est domestique et n'existe probablement plus à l'état sauvage en Europe, est un animal d'élevage dont les populations sont facilement gérées et multipliées par les apiculteurs. Bien qu'étant impactée négativement par des maladies, parasites et certains pesticides, leur population et le nombre de colonies seraient stables ou en augmentation en Belgique. Elles ne sont donc pas menacées d'extinction et n'ont pas besoin d'être 'sauvées', quoi qu'en disent de nombreux sites alarmistes mal informés !

L'osmie cornue (Osmia cornuta) s'est très bien adaptée à la vie en ville (© Nicolas Vereecken)

2. Certaines espèces d'abeilles sauvages telles que le bourdon terrestre (Bombus terrestris) et l'osmie cornue (Osmia cornuta) ont des besoins écologiques peu contraignants et se sont donc bien adaptées au changement du paysage en Belgique au cours des derniers siècles. Butinant de nombreuses plantes sauvages ainsi que les fleurs de nos fruits et légumes, nichant dans les parcs, jardins et friches, elles restent bien présentes dans nos régions et continuent à assurer leur rôle de pollinisateurs des millieux naturels, agricoles et urbains.

La mélitte de la salicaire (Melitta nigricans) ne récolte de pollen que sur la salicaire (Lythrum salicaria)(© Nicolas Vereecken)

3. D'autres espèces d'abeilles sauvages, comme par exemple la mélitte de la salicaire (Melitta nigricans), ont des niches écologiques très restreintes, ne butinant qu'une seule ou quelques espèces de plantes (abeilles monolectiques et oligolectiques), ou ayant besoin de lieux ou de matériaux très particuliers pour la construction de leur nid (par exemple des talus très chauds ou sols sableux, des coquilles d'escargot vides ou des fibres végétales). Plusieurs dizaines de ces espèces sont malheureusement en déclin ou ont déjà disparu de la région bruxelloise, voire de Belgique, au cours des dernières décennies.

Quelles menaces pèsent sur les abeilles sauvages ?

Sur base de la Liste Rouge Européenne des Abeilles, les menaces actuelles peuvent être regroupées en cinq grandes catégories :

1. Développement et intensification agricole

Au cours des deux derniers siècles, de nombreuses zones naturelles (forêts, prairies, zones humides) ont été converties en zones de production agricole et d'élevage, résultant en une réduction de surface de ces écosystèmes et leur dégradation, notamment par l'application d'insecticides et d'herbicides, la monoculture intensive à grande échelle et le remplacement des prairies de fauche par des productions intensives de fourrage pour bétail.

Plus précisément, chaque espèce d'abeilles sauvages a besoin d'un site de nidification adapté (sol nu bien drainé et ensoleillé, terrain sableux, talus oblique ou vertical, tige creuse, fissures, rocailles, coquille d'escargot, etc.) et d'une ou de plusieurs espèces de plantes nourricières pour s'approvisionner en nectar et pollen. La conversion de zones naturelles a fortement réduit la surface disponible pour ces lieux de nidification et ces plantes nourricières essentiellement au cycle de vie de nombreuses espèces d'abeilles.

Une prairie avec de nombreuses espèces de plantes nourricières (© Nicolas Vereecken)

Une zone de production agricole ayant une faible diversité florale (© Nicolas Vereecken)

2. Pollution et pesticides

Souvent évoqués comme la cause unique ou principale de 'la disparition des abeilles', les pesticides (principalement les herbicides, insecticides et fongicides) ne sont qu'un facteur parmi d'autres expliquant le déclin des abeilles. Malheureusement, la plupart des études toxicologiques publiées ont été effectuées sur l'abeille domestique (Apis mellifera) et le bourdon terrestre (Bombus terrestris) et l'on comprend encore mal l'impact de ces substances sur les autres espèces d'abeilles sauvages.

Certains insecticides utilisés en agriculture et horticulture ont un effet notable sur les espèces non-ciblées, entraînant une hausse de mortalité et, à des doses sublétales, affectant le comportement chez les abeilles étudiées et les rendant plus sensibles aux maladies et parasites. Les herbicides quant à eux menacent aussi les abeilles sauvages en détruisant les 'mauvaises herbes', ces plantes indigènes fournissant le pollen et nectar essentiels à la survie des abeilles. Les fongicides auraient aussi un impact sur la santé et survie de certaines espèces de bourdons.

Insecticides et herbicides sont communément utilisés en horticulture (© Stéphane De Greef)

Les pesticides peuvent tuer, désorienter ou affaiblir les abeilles (© Stéphane De Greef)

3. Développement industriel et urbain

En plus de la perte d'habitat et de resources florales liées à l'agriculture, de nombreux sites naturels ou semi-naturels ont été détruits au cours des dernières décennies pour laisser place à des zones industrielles et urbaines, notamment en région bruxelloise. Suite à ces conversions, en l'absence de leurs plantes nourricières et sans accès à des sols sains ou des tiges creuses pour y nicher, la plupart des abeilles sauvages disparaissent du paysage en l'espace de quelques mois. 

Les friches urbaines, ces 'terrains vagues abandonnés' au coeur de la ville, sont des zones refuge pour des dizaines d'espèces d'abeilles sauvages qui y trouvent des sites de nidification idéaux, une grande diversité florale et une faible contamination en pesticides. Chaque année, malheureusement, de nombreuses friches sont détruites pour laisser place à de nouvelles habitations, des centres commerciaux ou des parkings, ayant pour conséquences la disparition instantanée de nombreuses espèces dont certaines très rares.

La friche Josaphat à Schaerbeek abrite plus de 70 espèces d'abeilles (© Jens D'Haeseleer)

Une ancienne friche à Tour et Taxis convertie en parking sans fleurs (© Stéphane De Greef)

4. Changement climatique

Même si le changement climatique n'est pas forcément ressenti dans notre vie quotidienne, l'augmentation des températures moyennes, les périodes de sécheresse, d'inondations ou de températures extrêmes peuvent causer des dommages catastrophiques pour les populations d'abeilles et la survie de nombreuses plantes. Certaines espèces sortant d'hibernation trop tôt risquent d'être décimées par le gel tardif, et d'autres risquent d'émerger avant ou après la floraison de leurs plantes nourricières, les laissant sans ressource alimentaire. Ces phénomènes restent mal connus et il est essentiel de réaliser plus d'études sur ce sujet très important.

Une manifestation en 2019 à Bruxelles pour demander des actions concrètes contre le changement climatique (© Stéphane De Greef)

5. Espèces invasives, maladies et parasites

L'arrivée d'espèces invasives peut causer de graves dérèglements dans les milieux naturels, agricoles et urbains. Les plantes invasives comme la renouée du Japon recouvrent de larges surfaces et causent la disparition de la flore indigène.

 

Plusieurs études ont aussi démontré que les abeilles domestiques pouvaient avoir un impact négatif sur les espèces d'abeilles sauvages, les chassant et réduisant leur densité de façon notable, notamment par la compétition pour les resources florales par l'abeille domestique travaillant via recrutement, mais aussi par les risques de transmission de parasites et de virus de l'abeille domestique vers les abeilles sauvages.

La renouée du Japon s'accapare l'espace qui était autrefois occupé par de nombreuses espèces de plantes indigènes essentielles pour la survie de nos abeilles sauvages
(© Stéphane De Greef)